I got affordable braces in Mexico!

        I got braces!!!!!   I have wanted braces since I was in fourth grade, I know I was insane, but I had sorta crooked teeth and a large overbite. My parents said that if I really really wanted them, I could get them, and here is how it went. 

   We planned on getting them in La Cruz, so while we were at Walmart, we went to Dentoamerica, and they said that they couldn’t fit us in till two weeks later. So we went to another place-not super sure what’s it called though. My mum and the orthodontist talked for a second in a jumble of English and Spanish, and she said that she could see me that Wednesday, if I could get my X-rays soon. We asked if they could get us an appointment, and they did. So the next day, our friend Willy, off of s/v Landfall, drove us to P.V, where we took my X-rays. 

  This X-ray machine was not your average X-ray machine (in the states at least.), if you live in the states, you know that they put that little tab in your mouth and treat heavy jacket, then use the little camera thing to take photos of your teeth. You don’t have to do anything but sit and wait for like 30 seconds. This one, you has to rid yourself of any metal, which was a lot for me ( two pairs of earrings, watch, silver bracelet, along with necklace, and a few more bracelets.) before they could take the X-rays. Then it was this machine they fit to your chin and it played music while spinning around taking the photos. 

  Once it was done, they gave us the X-ray, it was a panoramic photo of my mouth. The next day, after hanging out with a bunch of my friends, we went to the orthodontist. Usually, for the states, they give you a check up first, and make a plan for what they are going to do for you treatment. But instead, she began to work on my mouth right away. First she put this thing in my mouth, so she could see ever single tooth in my mouth(I looked like a horse), then she cleaned them with this super sour blue stuff. She then, added this sealant stuff that keeps my teeth super white while I have my braces. Then the worst part started, the glueing of the braces, it wasn’t all that bad, until she reached, my last molars, she had to reach with her fingers to the back, and well I can’t really explain it, but it hurt. She sealed the brackets with a purple UV light. It was now time to add the wire. This part didn’t really hurt, and I got to pick the color of the rubber bands. If you are wondering, I got silver, black, and a turquoise/green (Slytherin house colors. A.k.a, my house colors). Once we were done, we got this fancy tooth brush for my braces. 

   I was expecting them to hurt a whole lot, but it was really just sore. The second day I got them, I was eating apples (cut up.), the third, quesadillas and pizza. It was tough, but not that bad. My friends say that it hurts up to a week, so it was a pleasant surprise only having them hurt a few days. Though the second day wasn’t the most comfortable. 

  For the installment of the braces, it was $2,800 pesos or $155 U.S. (at 18 pesos to the dollar.), the X-rays were $335 pesos (about 18 dollars U.S),plus $500 pesos for the tightening each month. 

    I was so happy to get them, but of course, as soon as we made it back to the marina, one of my brackets popped off. I made a record, according to my friends. One bracket off in a hour. So the next day I got it fixed. And I got wax for my braces-grape and blueberry flavored-, so I won’t tear up my gums more than they already were. Three weeks later, I don’t in even notice them. And this Monday, I get them tightened

Keep calm and smile on 😬 -NinaπŸ„πŸ½β€β™€οΈ

2 thoughts on “I got affordable braces in Mexico!

Leave a Reply

