Delayed post and more fun to come – January 23rd

Hey world! It’s Nina. First of all sorry for not writing in so long, as you know we were up in the states a few months ago, and I got back in November wrote a post, but that was ages ago. My mom and I got back in December, after a birthday stay in the states. I got to go to a Green Day concert with my mom, and my two friends, Zélie and Ava. But that isn’t what I am writing about. School, that’s what this is about. When we began last year homeschooling, I found homeschooling and everything about it horrible. Doing school every day with your parents, now isn’t that every child’s dream. At least for most children. That was my answer at least last year because, we did not have a decent curriculum to go by. We were choosing different sources, and not all of them worked for me. But while we were up in the states, I went to visit my old school. I had found that quite a few of my old friends, if not all, have changed and moved on. They were preoccupied by things I don’t really care about. We began an amazing homeschooling curriculum called, OakMeadow. I personally really like this a lot more than some other books (that I shall not name). Last year we found a OakMeadow Math book in La Cruz, and I enjoyed it immensely. When I found out that we were doing this curriculum I was really happy with it. We also began Vilda an outdoor education class with other homeschoolers. I personally didn’t meet any homeschoolers while homeschooling in the states before we left in 2015. This was really fun for Ellamae and I because we got to socialize with others “like us”. This changed my perspective on homeschooling a lot. I had a new group of friends, and they were a lot nicer than some of my other friends I had before. When we came down to Mexico🇲🇽 I was actually keen on doing my schooler work rather than trying to worm out if it. I got done faster because I was working on it rather than procrastinating. I was excited to work on it in the morning, so I would wake up at around six-six thirty just to get to do school (and the fact that I was done around ten-ish in the morning.). A hint to all homeschooling parents: find a curriculum that really works for you and your child, it will make life ten times more easier. 
Fair winds🌬and lots of dolphins🐬 

Nina🚣🏼‍♀️

 One shout out to Vilda: Hey guys! I miss you tons all of you, and hope you can visit us. 

And one last shout out to Elsie: I miss you so much. I hope to see you down here February to March. Tell me when you’ll be down here. 

4 thoughts on “Delayed post and more fun to come – January 23rd

  1. Aloha, Nina! You don’t know me, but I know your dad! My name is Karla and I live in Hawaii with my hubby and 3 kids. We home school too, but on land. Thanks for the tip on Oak meadow. My oldest daughter is 11 and she would be stoked to be your penpal. Is that something you would be into? Let us know. Say “hi” to your dad for me. And the rest of your family too!! If you guys find yourselves sailing to Hawaii – let us know! We’d love to host you guys! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

